How to Become a Licensed Electrician in New Hampshire – How to obtain a New Hampshire Electrician’s License

Citizens of New Hampshire enjoy one of the lowest crime rates in the country, no sales tax, and good economic opportunities. Becoming a licensed NH electrician is a great way to enjoy the state while earning a generous $70,700 salary, on average. 

To work in the electrical field in New Hampshire, you’ll need to be a regulated apprentice, journeyman, master, or high/medium voltage electrician with the appropriate licensing. 

Do You Need an Electrician License in New Hampshire?

Unless you are a homeowner looking to work on your single-family dwelling, you will need an electrical license or registration to work in New Hampshire. Making electrical installations without a license qualifies as a misdemeanor in the state. 

The Electrician’s Board from the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification oversees electrical licensing for those performing electrical installations for light, heat, and power, regardless of the voltage. 

Types of Electrical Licenses in New Hampshire

The Electrician’s Board offers journeyman, master, and high/medium voltage electrical licenses. They also register and oversee apprentices and high/medium voltage trainees. Electricians can be individuals or business entities like LLCs or partnerships. 

You can contact the Board at 603-271-2152, or at their office:

Office of Professional Licensure & Certification

7 Eagle Square

Concord NH, 03301

If completing one of the electrical license applications, you should mail your completed application, forms, and paid fees to:

Office of Professional Licensure & Certification

7 Eagle Square

Concord, NH 03301

All fees can be paid by check, Cashier’s Check, or money order.

NH Electrician Apprentice Registration

Electrician apprentices in New Hampshire are either employed or contractually supervised by a master electrician. These apprentices are a part of an approved NH apprenticeship program. 

Once in a program, you must register as an apprentice with the state. 

To become a registered apprentice, you will need:

  • To graduate high school or participate in a youth apprenticeship program for high schoolers 
    • Submit transcripts and letters of enrollment 
  • To list your apprenticeship program, the licensee number of your supervisor, and any other licenses you have held in other states
  • To complete your application and pay a $30 application fee, as well as a $30 renewal fee annually 
    • Include a passport-sized color photo with your application

When you register as an electrical apprentice you will receive an ID card that is valid for one year. You can renew this card annually. If your supervising master electrician changes anytime, you’ll need to fill out the Change of Master for Apprentice form.

The application process for medium/high voltage trainees is similar to that above. 

NH Journeyman Electrical License

Journeyman electricians in New Hampshire may supervise apprentices and trainees, but they must be supervised by a master electrician. Journeyman electricians cannot request permits without a supervising master electrician who employs them or is employed by the same company as them. 

To receive your Journeyman Electrical License, you must apply to take a journeyman electrical exam. 

Journeyman exam applicants must:

  • Have 8,000 hours of verifiable on-the-job journeyman training
  • Complete ONE of the following:
    • At least 600 hours of electric schooling through courses of 150 hours OR an associate or higher degree in electrical curriculum OR
    • Have 10 years’ experience as a journeyman or master electrician elsewhere OR
    • Have previously taken the journeyman or master exam in New Hampshire
  • Complete the application
    • Include a passport-sized color photo 
  • Pay a $50 application fee

Once approved, you can sit for your exam. When you pass the exam, you’ll pay a prorated licensing fee (described on page 4 of the application) to receive your license.

Reciprocity

New Hampshire has journeyman reciprocity agreements with Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. You may be exempt from taking the exam if you have an active license from one of these states. 

Master Electricians in New Hampshire

The highest level of individual electrical licensing is for master electricians. Master electricians must apply to sit for the master exam. 

These are the requirements you must meet to apply:

  • Have at least 2,000 hours of verifiable experience as a licensed NH journeyman electrician or as a licensed master electrician in another state
    • You must have passed the journeyman exam
  • Complete the application
    • Include a passport-sized color photo with your application
  • Pay a $50 application fee

Once approved, you can sit for your exam. When you pass the exam, you’ll pay a prorated licensing fee to receive your license.

Reciprocity

If you are a licensed master electrician coming from Maine, Massachusetts, or Vermont, you may be able to opt-out of the exam and receive your NH Master License through reciprocity. 

High/Medium Voltage Electricians in NH

High/medium voltage electricians are highly sought after in New Hampshire, and these electricians sport some of the highest salaries in the field. 

To apply, you must show proof that you’ve completed a state, federal, or employer certification program approved by the Board. You may do so on the application with a $50 application fee. Once your examination is approved, you can pay the prorated licensing fee and receive your license. 

The High/Medium Voltage Electrical License has no examination requirement.  

Renewing Your New Hampshire License

Apprentice registrations are renewed annually. To renew, you must show proof of 150 hours of Board-approved electrical schooling. If you are a registered apprentice for more than 5 years and have not received your journeyman license, you’ll need to complete 30 hours of classroom instruction before your 5th renewal.

You can renew your NH electrical license online every three years on your birth month. The expiration date for journeyman, master, and high/medium voltage licenses depends on your birth month. You can find a list of all renewal fees here.

Journeyman and master electricians must complete 15 hours of instruction before every renewal. This should be done through an approved continuing education provider. For more information see Elec 403.01 Continuing Education for Licensees.

Electrical Licensing for Businesses

If you’re applying for a license on behalf of a corporation or business, you’ll need to fill out the Application for Corporation. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top