New Hampshire is known for its excellent public school system, high salaries, and extensive granite formations. Having been voted one of the top states to live in in 2021, heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) technicians can joyfully make their mark and earn a living here.
To become an HVAC technician in NH, you’ll need the right training and to adhere to your local permitting laws. Fuel gas fitting workers, oil heating techs, and HVAC contractors are regulated by the state.
Do You Need an HVAC Tech Certification in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire only regulates fuel gas fitting workers, oil heating technicians, and contractors in the HVAC field. HVAC technicians in other areas should adhere to their local permitting and licensing laws and work under a licensed supervisor for the best experience.
Becoming an HVAC Tech in NH
To become a competent tech in the HVAC field, you’ll need to properly learn the trade, get certified or licensed, and stay up-to-date through Continuing Education (CE) hours.
- Learn the Trade
Gain your HVAC knowledge through a trade school program, community college program, or registered apprenticeship. You may also be taught on the job by a skilled employer.
- Become Certified or Licensed
Basic techs do not need any certification to get to work; however, if you work with refrigerants, you’ll need your EPA 608 Certificate, as it’s required across the U.S.
Gas fitting trainees and technicians need to be registered or licensed with the state from their initial apprenticeship through their independent work. HVAC contractors registered as business entities are also regulated by the state. Oil heating technicians are regulated voluntarily.
- Stay Up-to-Date
All licensees except those in training require 3 hours of Continuing Education (CE) in code every year, totaling 6 hours per renewal. CE are courses you need to take to stay up-to-date in your field and to renew your paperwork.
If your position doesn’t require CE, it’s still recommended to complete some, especially when it comes to local safety codes and ordinances.
NH Licenses for HVAC Workers
Registration and licensing for HVAC techs only occur for those working on fuel gas fitting and for HVAC contractors. Oil heating techs are regulated by the state on a voluntary basis.
Fuel Gas Fitting Techs
You can find all applications for fuel gas fitter positions here. If you’re in training, be sure you’re supervised by a licensed fuel gas fitter to meet the experience requirements in the future. This supervisor will complete an Affidavit for Proof of Appropriate Field Experience that is included within your application for licensing.
HVAC contractors with registered businesses must apply for a mechanical business license through the state.
The Responsible Managing Employee must be a licensed fuel gas service technician, hearth system technician, or domestic appliance technician.
You will need a letter of good standing from the Secretary of State Office, proof of liability insurance, no court judgments or convictions against the entity, and to pay any fees requested by the state.
Local Permit Requirements for HVAC Techs
Certain municipalities have permitting requirements for certain kinds of HVAC work. Contact your city’s building or permitting office for details before completing any new HVAC work.
New Hampshire HVAC Salaries
HVAC technicians in the state make about 20% more than the national average, bringing in over $61,000 per year plus overtime.
To read this article in Spanish, click here.